Every Last Breath by Jennifer L. Armentrout~ Book Review

every last breath

As all my followers know, I have been in a book slump for three months now.

THE REIGN OF TERROR HAS FINALLY ENDED.

Who else better to end my reading slump than my favorite our Jennifer L. Armentrout with her riveting final installment to her The Dark Elements series? No one, that is who.

From my own personal stand point I rate this book 5/5 stars.

From my professional (I’m a Humanities major) stand point, I rate this book 3/5 stars.

I will explain both in the following review that will be mostly without spoilers. I will not say who the main character chooses to be with so feel free to read!

People tend to think love triangles are becoming overrated. I, however, love them if the author does not make it blatantly obvious who the person is going to chose. JLA accomplished this wonderfully. I was happy with Layla’s choice, they were my OTP

The fangirl in me, absolutely loved everything about this book. I am a huge paranormal romance fan. I also love the show Supernatural which was referenced a few times in this novel.

I loved…

  • How fast in the novel Layla made her choice concerning the love triangle
  • The action started in the first sentence of the first chapter
  • The pacing
  • Creativity
  • The character growth but especially Layla
  • The last one fourth of the book had me SOBBING. I mean this was some serious emotions.
  • THE ENDING WAS FABULOUS and I believe things tied together nicely.

I had very few problems with this book. My biggest issue was some of the story did not seem oringial enough. It resembled a lot of Supernatural. Supernatural was referenced a lot but I feel like some parts were too similar. The demon idea came almost straight from Supernatural and that unsettles me.

Overall this book was phenomenal. As I said above, I have been in a reading slump for three months. I have picked up more books than I am willing to admit and I could not push through any of them. Every Last Breath was thrilling and it sucked me in quickly. It was a quick yet exciting read. I would highly recommend this series.

Leave a comment