Ten Books Every YA Nerd Should Read

I have decide to start participating in The Broke and The Bookish Top Ten Tuesday!

I did not become a bookworm until eighth grade so I have had a lot of time spent with Young Adult novels. Here are the ten books (or series) I believe every YA fan will enjoy.

Of course I am going to start with.

#1 The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

These are obviously close to my heart. The world building is spectacular and all three of her series intertwine with each other. The details are amazing.

#2 The Lux Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout

JLA is one of my favorite authors right next to Cassandra Clare. I was really wary to read this series as I have never been a fan of aliens. These aliens are like no other and I thoroughly enjoyed these books. This is a series I keep going back to read again and again.

#3 Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

A dystopian series with a bit of a paranormal feel. This is not a series I started and expected to attach itself to me. Shatter Me was a very unique read especially when it comes to the writing style.

#4 Starcrossed by Joshephine Angelini

Starcrossed is another trilogy. It is based on Greek Mythology which I love. It drew me in and I read it within a few days- I often wish I could read it “for the first time” again.

#5 Need by Carrie Jones

This four book series was spectacular! It was so unique and based on Norse Mythology. I did not know what Norse Mythology was before this but then I quickly got obsessed.

#6 Born at Midnight by C.C. Hunter

The Shadow Falls series is about a camp of supernaturals. Before I read this series, I was not able to read third person books. I am not sure why, it was just one of my weird things. Therefore, this book opened many doors for me.

#7 The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

The Mara Dyer trilogy gave me a very creepy feel and after I read it, I just kept searching for that feeling.

#8 Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Vampire Academy along with Meads’ Bloodlines series, are both easy reads. I usually never read a series all the way through in a row but I almost did with VA. It was very simplistic and I would not even realize I had been reading so long- the book basically finished themselves.

#9 The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I do not have a reason for this one. It just seems obvious to me.

#10 Divergent by Veronica Roth

Read this because Tris is unlike any other heroine.

All book covers are from Amazon!

What would you add to the list? Let me know in the comments! 🙂

-Lindsey

One thought on “Ten Books Every YA Nerd Should Read

Leave a comment